How To: Treat Plantar Warts with Lemon Oil

Plantar Warts are described by WebMD as “noncancerous skin growths, caused by a viral infection in the top layer of the skin.”  They are caused by the Human Papillomavirus (HPV) and can be a result of coming into contact with a surface where someone who has warts has also contacted (ie. showers).

I recently discovered that’s what was these large bumps on my feet; they were painful sometimes, but otherwise I forgot about them.  But I wanted to treat them, so I decided to try a homoeopathic cure and reached for Lemon Oil.

Plantar Warts after two weeks of lemon oil treatment

Plantar Warts after two weeks of lemon oil treatment

 

Thanks to the blog that saved my feet, I was able to work away at my warts without surgery.

Another great way that worked for me (and may or may not work for you) was swimming; I would swim in the pool and subconsciously scrap my feet against the pool floor.  The mixture of chlorine and floor-pumicing shrunk the warts to just a spot on my foot.

Remember to always consult your physician before doing anything in the event it is not a plantar wart, or if you may react to this treatment.

How To: Treat Plantar Warts With Lemon Oil

You will need:

  • Essential Oil of Lemon ($15 or so, at a health food store.  Typically behind the counter, near aromatherapy oils)
  • Q-Tips or cotton swabs
  • Bandages, medical tape, or duct tape

The  daily routine with the lemon oil:

  1. Clean the area.  Remove any dirt that may be in there, and around the wart as well.
  2. Cut medical tape or duct tape, if using, to cover the area.  You want space around the wart for the adhesive to stick to.  If using bandages, find one that is large enough to cover the area.  You want NO oxygen coming in, as the warts thrive on that.  Remember to use the sticky part of the bandage, not the cushion.
  3. Grab a Q-Tip  or cotton swab, and soak the tip with the oil.  You want that thing drippin’.
  4. Apply the oil to the wart directly.  Soak it.
  5. Cover the wart tightly with your bandage choice; make sure the wart can not breathe.  You may want to really wrap the bandages if you find they move during the day.
  6. Repeat morning and night (unless using duct tape — this does not need to be repeated, simply leave the tape on until you think it has healed, about a week).
  7. When peeling off the bandages, be slow, and really pull off those dead skin layers.

Have you tried this?  Have you tried something else that worked?  Let me know in the comments!

– Kathlene

Leave a comment